My First Blog Post!

 

This is my first official post. It is also my first blog, so hopefully I am doing this right. Today I am spending the morning and part of the afternoon with my roommate’s dog Stella. She just got spayed yesterday so she needs some love. I even gave her a new stuffed animal (a dog with reindeer ears).

I have been in Vancouver for over two weeks now. I moved here from Ucluelet which is on Vancouver Island by Tofino. It is a beautiful little fishing town right on the ocean. It has only 1200 people (1800 in the summer). I enjoyed living there; beautiful mountains, the water, fishing in the summer and wonderful hiking trails. The downside is that it rains a lot! In the summer when it is beautiful, hot and sunny on the mainland, it gets fog. If you can handle that, then you will see how beautiful it really is out there. It`s a rainforest. I moved to Vancouver for school and more opportunity. I was in Ucluelet for two summers and one fall. I am looking forward to visiting again and posting pictures for you guys to see how it is amazing.

I have fallen in love with Vancouver. I love all the health food stores and markets, the restaurants, the mountains and so much more. I start school on March 1st and I am counting down the days. In a year from now I will be graduating as a Registered Holistic Nutritionist. A couple years ago I would have had no idea I was going to be here doing this right now. I finally found what I wanted to do with my life. I have a few people that inspired me.

My whole change in diet and lifestyle happened over the summer. I have a diet based on whole, organic foods. I still eat all the things I love, but I make them myself. I still make delicious desserts and baked goods (with a few healthy tweaks and minus the refined sugar and flour). Healthy food does not have to taste bad! This is coming from a girl who when she was little did not like very many vegetables, but now I like everything. The only food I am still trying to like more is raw tomatoes. I don’t mind them cut up small in a salsa or bruschetta, but a big slice of raw tomato I cannot do. I am trying and I want to like them so bad. The seasonal local tomatoes look so yummy, especially the beautiful heirloom tomatoes you can get in the summer.

I made this yummy smoothie today. It tasted like a dessert!

This is what I put in it:

1 banana
2 tbsp of Vega chocolate protein powder
Almond milk
2 tbsp coconut milk (I had some left over in my fridge)
1 tbsp flax seed oil
1 tsp chia seeds
Small handful of raw almonds
Pinch of cinnamon

It was so delicious I fully enjoyed every sip I took.

Tonight I am having left over curry that I made last night. I made extra’s so I could relax tonight.

My delicious curry

I am going to try a new recipe tomorrow. My good friend Sara of Beyond Vitality (check out her website in my blog roll) posted a recipe for pumpkin lentil risotto. I might try it with a few tweaks and I will probably use some butternut squash. We shall see! Looking forward to sharing it with you! Have a wonderful day!

8 responses to “My First Blog Post!

  1. You are just AWESOME! Looking forward your recipes!

  2. Really good first blog Elisa you are doing great. You will become a great Holistic Nutritionist…

  3. Excellent blog Elisa! I am so proud of you! 🙂 And I am even more excited to share recipes, post on each other’s blogs and have our crazy nutrition chats on everything holistic health. I wish you all the best on your new adventure. I know that you will make an excellent Holistic Nutritionist! Keep up the good work! xo

  4. Awesome Elisa!!! Are you attending the new Vancouver campus of Institute of Holistic Nutrition…that is wonderful!!! Loved the blog…keep up the good work..we have to spread the truth of how wonderful food can make us feel..if we choose the right ones for us!

  5. Very nice Elisa, keep up the good work, education, motivation to life..etc.
    take care Your Mom’s friend Monik

  6. Elisa, Who knew that when we met at Mac this is where you would end up = ) Congrats hun on everything = ) Also, Im looking forward to trying out these recipes you posted. I was actually craving risotto last night, so I think Im going to give this one a try = ) Looking forward to your next posts
    Hope

  7. Can’t go wrong with the chocolate vega! love the blog Elisa! Grrreat job, so good in fact that you totally deserve kamut pancakes from Rhizome!

Leave a Reply

