Running and Mushroom Soup

Hello everyone! Hope everyone is doing awesome!

I just got into running. It has actually only been a week. I am heading into student life where it can be busy and expensive to get a gym or yoga membership. I love yoga and I try to go here and there because it makes me feel wonderful, but it can get expensive, especially when you are on a budget. I decided to take up running and exercising more at home. I would like to try and do yoga once every one or two weeks though.

Running has been quite frustrating. The first day was brutal. I could barely run more than a minute at a time.  I was out of breath and tired. I did what I could. The next day was a bit easier, but it is still not what I wanted. I know it is going to take time for me to be able to run for long distances at a time. I just wish it could happen sooner. Yesterday was great; I ran further and felt less tired. It felt really good. I know I just need to keep going! The first few days my legs and butt hurt a lot. It showed I was out of shape but it also showed that it was working. I used to love that burn the next day after a good work out; the ones where you have trouble walking down the stairs. I have been making sure to stretch! I am not a fitness or nutrition expert (yet), but I am doing what I can to get in shape and to be healthy within my budget!

I would also really love to run my first marathon next fall. That is my goal. I thought about doing one this spring but that might be too soon. I don’t want to hurt myself. If I can keep up it I think I will be ready to run one in the fall. I am so excited. I have a lot of friends who have ran in one before. It sounds like an amazing experience!

The weather in Vancouver has been pretty good. Yes it rains a lot, but it has not been very cold. I miss the snow in Ontario sometimes, but then I think of how I am not freezing my butt off every day. I grew up snowmobiling, ice fishing and even camping in the winter. I do appreciate it. However, it is beautiful out here. Yes I am bragging to those of you who are still in the cold.

Yesterday I made a mushroom soup. I had all these mushrooms in my fridge (I bought too many or forget I already had some) and decided to make a soup. Soups are so easy to make with very little ingredients. I think it is one of the best ways to clean out your fridge. I love making soups especially in the winter when it is cold. Split pea is one of my favourites as well as butternut squash.

In this recipe I did not use any cream, only a little almond milk. Real cream or milk does not make my belly very happy. I used to love cream soups but not how they made me feel. This recipe ended up being really smooth and delicious. I used what I already had at home instead of making a trip to the store.

Mushroom Soup

3-4 cups sliced mushrooms of your choice (I had cremini and white button mushrooms in my fridge)
4 cloves of garlic
1 small onion chopped (or half a large one)
2 cups vegetable stock
½ cup almond milk (or milk of your choice)
½ tsp dried oregano
¼ tsp ground ginger
¼ tsp ground cumin
2x ½ tbsp of organic butter or coconut oil

Salt and Pepper to taste

  1. Sautee the onions for 2 minutes in ½ tbsp organic butter before adding the garlic and ¾  of the mushrooms to the pot.
  2. Once nearly cooked add your vegetable stock. Make sure mixture is covered in the stock. You may have to add more liquid as it simmers.
  3. Simmer on low heat for 45 minutes. Add the milk and simmer for another 15 minutes.
  4. Blend soup with hand blender until you reach the consistency you want. I like mine a little chunky still.
  5. Sautee the mushrooms that were left over in a little butter or coconut oil and add to the soup.
  6. Season to taste and serve.
  7. To get a little creaminess add a dollop of yogurt to your bowl of soup. 

I love this recipe because blending the soup makes it nice and smooth and having the chunks of mushrooms gives it a good texture. I love mushrooms. Soups are so easy to make. You can do so many combinations too. I have a butternut squash in my fridge that will most likely end up going in a soup!

I hope everyone is surviving the winter and keeping warm with comforting and healthy food. I am definitely looking forward to summer. It will be my first summer in Vancouver and I am so excited to go to the beach and have some fun! I know it is only February, but the winter is passing by quick (I think).

Have a wonderful day and I am looking forward to sharing my next recipe with you! If anyone has any awesome recipes I should try please email them to me at elisadorval@hotmail.com. Even if they are not that healthy I can make some tweaks! I would love to try some great recipes from you and post them!

2 responses to “Running and Mushroom Soup

  1. Great post Elisa! I’ve been pretty active my entire life…but sometimes I get off track. It’s definitely a challenge when you start again…but it gets easier as we move forward. I’m also taking up marathon training! I can feel the competitiveness in me coming out again! 😉 I’ve joined a running club here in Trinidad. We can motivate each other! 😀

    I’m definitely going to try that soup you made. It sounds so delicious yet so easy. Love that!

    • Awesome! And yes sometimes you just don’t have that many ingredients to work with in your fridge and don’t feel like going to the store!

Leave a Reply

