Loving the Sun and Quinoa Salad

Hello! I hope everyone is having a fabulous day! I know I am! The weather has been very beautiful in Vancouver. It has been sunny and pretty warm (for the winter). I have been going for runs which have been getting better and better.

I have been eating a little summery too. I made a quinoa salad that was absolutely delicious. Salads are so easy to make and you can put whatever you want in them. We have a barbeque at my apartment, so I have also been doing some grilling! Grilled veggies are one of my favourites. I know I keep talking about summer, but I am so excited to go to all the farmers markets, beaches and have a tonnes of fun. I have a few friends that are somewhere extra warm right now.  I am very jealous.

I am starting school in a week and a half and I am beyond excited. I am looking forward to sharing all the amazing things I learn. My brain is ready to take in all the information. I need to make sure I am eating healthy while I am in school, as well as sleeping and exercising regularly. I remember when I was in school before. I was working like crazy, not eating very well, not exercising much because I was exhausted and definitely not sleeping enough. I was also very stressed out. I am going to do it different this time! I will do the best I can. I will be learning about nutrition so I have no excuses.

So this is the recipe for the quinoa salad I made. You can make it with whatever ingredients you want. Quinoa is one of my favourites. I used to eat it almost every day; sometimes twice a day! Read this link on how to make quinoa smashingly delicious from Joyous Health. You can have it for any meal of the day; it makes a delicious breakfast too!

Veggie-Packed Quinoa Salad (serves 3-4)

You can put however much of any ingredient you want. I don’t cook with a recipe usually, but this is what I put in mine (this time).

2 cups of cooked quinoa
½ cucumber seeded and diced
½  chopped red pepper (or pepper of your choice)
2-3 tbsp of finely chopped red onion
1 sliced avocado
Small hand full of raw almonds
A good handful of spinach
1-2 tbsp of good quality feta (optional)
2 tbsp (or more) of extra virgin olive oil
Juice of half a lemon
A sprinkle of chia seeds

Sea salt and pepper to taste

Mix all veggies together with quinoa and drizzle with olive oil and lemon juice and enjoy!

Add whatever you want. I have a mango that I am excited to make a salad with when it ripens. Quinoa can be served warm or cold. Use it in place of rice in a pilaf or stir-fry, make a delicious salad, or have it for breakfast with almond milk and fruit!

Hope everyone is enjoying the day from wherever they are reading this from!

One response to “Loving the Sun and Quinoa Salad

  1. That quinoa salad looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

