Our Home

Happy Monday! Hope everyone had a great weekend. I had a wonderful weekend of building my Ikea bed, going for runs, and enjoying the beautiful sun. Unfortunately, the sun is not out again today. On Saturday I had a good dinner. I made almond crusted chicken breast, roasted butternut squash (with cinnamon, nutmeg and organic butter) and grilled asparagus. The almond crust wasn’t exactly how I wanted, so I will try and perfect it before posting the recipe.

Today I am trying two new recipes I found. One is a tahini, avocado and chickpea salad from Oh She Glows (it looks so good) and the other is a Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf from Joyous Health (it is made with quinoa flour). I am excited to try them and I will let you know how they turned out!

Last night I watched a movie called Home. It was a link from someone on Facebook. I decided to watch the movie.  It is an hour and a half long but well worth watching. It blew my mind. It talks about how the earth first started off; before there was any life. It goes through the evolution of animals and humans and what we have done to our planet in the last 50 years. It mentions that we have 10 years to change the way we live, avert the depletion of natural resources and the catastrophic evolution of the Earth’s climate. The movie is also absolutely gorgeous. It shows the beauty of our home (and some parts that are not so beautiful because of what we have done). The footage is amazing, so please watch!

Yes this might seem completely boring, and I am not going to ramble on that much about it. This is our life. We have the power to change.

1 billion people do not have access to safe drinking water

5000 people die a day because of dirty drinking water

Nearly 1 billion people are going hungry

20% of the human population uses 80% of the earth’s resources

Over 50% of the grain traded world wide is used for animal feed or biofuels

Every year, 13 million hectares of forest disappear

Three quarters of fishing grounds are exhausted, depleted or in dangerous decline

Many countries spend more on military then they do on health and education

The average temperature of the last 15 years has been the highest ever recorded

The ice cap is 40% thinner than it was 40 years ago

I hope that you will make time to watch this movie. I thought it was extremely interesting and informative. It really opened my eyes to the world. We have had the power to do all these great things (most in the last 100 years). We should be able to have the power to change our ways and save the earth.

I will be writing more on this subject at a later date. I have decided to make a plan on how I can help make changes. You should too. This is your home. Have a great day everyone! Happy Family Day to those who are in Ontario!

Leave a Reply

