Two Wonderful Recipes!

Hello! The sun is out once again here in Vancouver and that makes me very happy. Yesterday was a little cold (not that it was really that cold). I start school in exactly one week today. I am beyond excited. I am going to learn so much and I am ready to take in all the information. I have been learning about the things I love the past few years. I spent two years in culinary school learning about food and now I am going to spend a year learning about food and nutrition! I am glad I finally found something I am passionate about. I wanted to be an accountant at some point in my life, but I decided it was boring. I love math, but I do not like sitting in an office all day. We are only here once, why not spend it doing something you love?

This is a picture of my baby. I am so thankful that I got it for a gift last year. I am slowly collecting the different attachments. It is awesome for baking!

Yesterday I tried two new recipes that I found on some of my favourite websites. The first one I tried was a Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf from Joyous Health. I did not have any quinoa flour in the house so I substituted spelt flour instead. I added a bit more flour then what was asked in the recipe (could be due to a the fact I was using a different flour). I do love quinoa flour and I look forward to using it the next time I make this recipe. In Joy’s post she talks about how it is not only nutritious but a great flour for baking. I also used half organic butter and half coconut oil (the best of both worlds).  

This is recipe from her post! Joy is great at re-creating comforting favourites with a healthier alternative.

Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf

Ingredients:

¾ cup coconut sugar
½ cup organic butter softened or organic coconut oil*
3 large organic happy eggs
½ cup organic yogurt
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1-1/2 cups quinoa flour
2 tsp baking powder
3 tbsp poppy seeds
2 tbsp grated lemon zest

Method:

Preheat oven to 350F. Lightly grease an 8×4″ loaf pan. Cream the sugar and butter in a large bowl. Add the eggs, yogurt and vanilla. Mix together until fully combined.

Combine the flour, baking powder, poppy seeds and lemon zest in a medium bowl. Add this mixture to the egg mixture and combine until smooth. Pour batter into the loaf pan and bake in the centre of the oven for 40 to 45 minutes (or until a toothpick inserted into the centre comes out clean).

Let the loaf cool for 15 to 20 minutes before removing from the pan.

Enjoy with some raw honey!

The second recipe I tried was from the site: Oh She Glows. It was a Tahini Avocado Chickpea Salad and it was delicious! The only changes I would make would maybe add a little honey to the dressing for a little sweetness. Today I am going add some chopped fresh mango to the recipe. Here is the recipe from her website. Check out some of her other recipes, they are unique and delicious! The dressing is so creamy and just amazing! You could use it for other salads or even as a veggie dip.

Update: I added a touch of honey to the dressing and had fresh chopped mango in the salad and it was amazing! It was a good idea! Try it!

 Chickpea Salad with Tahini Avocado Dressing

Yield: ~3/4 cup dressing

For the dressing:

1 small avocado (about 1/2 cup flesh)
1-2 tsp extra virgin olive oil
1 garlic clove, chopped finely
3 tbsp tahini (or to taste)
2-4 tablespoons water (depending on the thickness desired)
2 tablespoon lemon juice (or to taste)
1/2 tbsp lime juice (if preferred)
3/4 teaspoon cumin, or to taste
1/2 teaspoon coriander

1/4-1/2 tsp kosher salt

Directions: In a food processor (or blender if you think it will work!), process the above ingredients together to make a sauce. I suggest adding the ingredients slowly to taste. You can adapt this recipe to suit your own taste buds! You might like more or less tahini or more EVOO, etc.

To make the salad I used:

2-3 cups greens (I used mix of romaine and spinach)
1 cup chickpeas, cooked
3/4 cup chopped veggies (I used red onion, cucumber, orange pepper, tomato)
Freshly ground black pepper + Paprika

Tahini Avocado dressing (whatever amount you desire! I used about 3-4 tbsp)

If you try these recipes I hope you enjoy them as much as I did! They are both unique, delicious and healthier alternatives. I am making pancakes this morning and I will be sharing my recipe tomorrow! Have an awesome day!

One response to “Two Wonderful Recipes!

  1. very nice website, enjoy the way you write, you definitely do hold a flair for writing, will be viewing this website quite often

Leave a Reply

