A Porridge to Cure Your Winter Blues

Hello everyone! I hope your weekend has been fabulous so far. For those of you in Vancouver, you’re probably looking out your window at the disgusting weather we’re having. It’s freezing! For those of you who are reading from another province (or country!), I give you permission to call me a ‘winter wuss.’ I grew up with cold, dreadful winters in Northern Ontario, but I’ve quickly adapted to British Columbia winters. It’s been pretty cold here this week and by cold I mean minus five. The other night it felt like minus seventeen! My hopes of summer are over. We were having the most beautiful weather in Vancouver just a week ago and now it’s gone!

This is outside now:

This is where I want to be:

Despite my complaints, I do miss some aspects of having a real winter. I grew up ice fishing, snowmobiling and even camping (in cabins) in the winter. The beauty of Vancouver is that you don’t have to drive very far to get a real winter. There are mountains all around and Whistler is not that far away. I haven’t been there, so I have yet to enjoy this luxury.  (I’m hoping to get the opportunity soon; I’ve been anxiously waiting to take a trip there!)

Cold-weather meals are a whole different story. On days like this a healthy salad just doesn’t cut it. You want something warm in your stomach! I guess that’s why a lot of people gain weight in the winter. Many of us hibernate inside eating more and exercising less. I have to say I’ve been quite impressed with myself this winter. I’ve been running almost every day – except today because I got called into work and I don’t want to brave the weather a second time!  I try and eat a salad every day and I limit my intake of sugar – except for my daily two pieces (sometimes more) of organic dark chocolate.

I was definitely craving comfort food when I woke up this morning. I had some left-over quinoa in my refrigerator and decided to come up with something delicious—a Banana and Quinoa Breakfast Porridge! It was warm, delicious and satisfying; exactly what I needed. Here is the recipe:

Banana and Quinoa Breakfast Porridge

1 banana
½ – ¾ cup almond milk
1 tbsp. chia seeds
1 cup cooked quinoa
½ tsp. cinnamon (or more)
1 tbsp. of real maple syrup
Small handful of almonds
1 tbsp. coconut milk (optional)

1 tbsp. shredded unsweetened coconut (optional)

  1. Mash the banana in the bowl. Add the milk, coconut milk and chia seeds and mix well.
  2. In a pot add the banana mixture and cooked quinoa. Cook until desired temperature is reached. You may need to add more milk depending on the consistency you prefer.
  3. Pour into bowl, sprinkle with cinnamon, shredded coconut and almonds. Drizzle with maple syrup and enjoy!

I hope everyone is finding ways of surviving this winter whether it’s bundling up in your comfy sweat pants and watching a movie or making one of your favourite comfort foods!

One response to “A Porridge to Cure Your Winter Blues

  1. I finally found some quinoa in Trinidad! I’m excited to start having it again. Great recipe…I will most definitely have it for breaky! 🙂

Leave a Reply

