It’s All About Me Day!

Hello everyone! Today I had a day that was all about me! Yes, I took an entire day to myself. I woke up early this morning even though I decided not to set an alarm. The first thing I did was make myself a delicious drink with my juicer. It was a great wake up!

I relaxed a bit and looked my favourite blogs and then made myself some breakfast. I had no school or work today and it felt great! I was able to take my time and do what I needed to do this morning. I went for a run and it made me feel even more fabulous. I haven’t been able to run for about a week because I hurt my ankles. I’ve been pretty upset about it, but today I had a good run! It was great to get back at it.

Around 12:30, after looking at the clock many times, I finally got my delivery -vegan and gluten free cookies I ordered from BBelles Bakery! Kris Britton (one of the owners of the bakery) delivered them herself! I was so happy to have finally met her. What she has done with her business is amazing and I’m truly inspired by her. She has her blog, I heart wellness; her bakery, BBelles Bakery; and now her new site helping other women start businesses, Skinny Girl Fat Passion. She posts recipes every day and writes inspiring stories. I hope that one day I will be as successful as her. It was so great to meet her in person.

I tried one of the cookies immediately and they were delicious! They were wrapped up all cute with a pink ribbon around the box and a card thanking me for my purchase. People think vegan or gluten-free mean tasteless, but these cookies are far from that – they are AH-mazing!

After indulging in a cookie, I got ready to head to Granville Island Market – one of my favourite places to be. I decided that I was going to get something extra special to make for dinner – after all today was a day for me!

I walked around looking at all the food – desserts, fruits, vegetables, seafood, fresh pasta, etc. I finally decided to get fish. I got one whole local rainbow trout; it was the perfect size for me. I eat vegetarian/vegan most of the week, but I do love fish! I also bought myself a beautiful pink gerbera daisy. It’s gorgeous!

For dinner I had baked trout with brown rice, butternut squash and spinach (it almost turned out like a risotto). I wanted to have asparagus too, but I completely forgot. I also had a few prawns for an appetizer.

Note: This is an update to this post. I would like to apologize to any vegans or vegetarians, or anyone who would not enjoy a whole fish on their plate looking them in the eyes. I never really thought about it as I was looking, but you can cut the head off and serve it that way. I’m a small town girl who grew up fishing, camping and all that outdoor fun. I fillet my own fish and don’t mind getting a little dirty. I will keep everyone else in mind next time!

Brown Rice with Butternut Squash and Spinach (Serves 2)

½ cup brown rice
1 ¼ cup water (or vegetable stock)
¼ cup chopped onion
1 garlic clove, chopped
1 tbsp. coconut oil
1 cup butternut squash, diced
1 large handful of spinach
Splash of apple cider vinegar
1 tsp. cumin

Sea salt and pepper to taste

  1. In small saucepan, sauté onions and garlic in coconut oil. Once cooked, add brown rice and sauté for a couple minutes.
  2. Add water (or vegetable stock) and bring to a simmer. Cover and simmer until done.
  3. Meanwhile, sauté butternut squash in a little coconut oil.
  4. When almost cooked, add the splash of apple cider vinegar and add spinach.
  5. Cook until spinach is done. Once the rice is cooked add this mixture to the rice. Season to your preference!
  6. Enjoy! 

Baked Rainbow Trout

1 whole rainbow trout
6-7 slices of lemon
1-2 cloves of chopped garlic
Any fresh (or dried) herbs such as oregano or thyme
1 tbsp. organic butter

Sea salt and pepper

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
  2. Rinse off trout and place on baking sheet lined with foil or parchment paper.
  3. Stuff with lemon slices, garlic, butter and herbs. Place a few lemon slices on top as well.
  4. Bake for about 10-15 minutes (it might take more time depending on the size and how you like it cooked, mine was quite small).

Note: You can wrap the fish in foil paper and bake it in the oven and you can also grill it – it is the best way to have it! 

As most of you can see, I like to keep my recipes simple and with little ingredients. Sometimes I tackle a recipe with many ingredients, but as a student on a budget and with limited time, I’ve been choosing more simple (but still delicious) recipes!

I really enjoyed my dinner. I had it with a glass of Borrowing Owl’s Pinot Gris. I took a trip to the Okanagan in the fall and had the opportunity to visit many vineyards. As a result I have a little collection of wine that I save for special occasions.

Today was truly a wonderful day for me. I feel so relaxed and happy. I have to work all weekend, so I needed to have some down time after a busy week. What do you do to relax? I usually end up cooking something or doing something that I have been itching to do for a while!

I hope everyone has a fabulous weekend! Looking forward to sharing more recipes with you!

Leave a Reply

