Super Banana Oatmeal Muffins and Raw Chocolate Brownies

Happy Monday everyone! I hope everyone’s weekend was relaxing and fun! Unfortunately, I worked all weekend, but I still had a little time to relax and do some studying. I am off today which is fabulous. I have gotten a lot done so far.

This morning I woke up (on my own and not to an alarm), had my lemon water and made an energizing green juice. I had breakfast ready to go as I prepared some overnight oats the night before. I checked in with some of my favourite blogs and went for a run. I was already feeling like a champ!

As I improve, I’ve been taking running more seriously. My goal is to run a half marathon either this summer or in the fall. My good friend Sara from Beyond Vitality is going to send me a training schedule. I’m ready for it! I’ve been pushing myself more every day that I run and it keeps getting better.

I’ve been setting a lot of short and long term goals for myself lately. I think it’s important to have goals or at least dreams. Achieving those goals or making those dreams come true makes life much more enjoyable – along with love, friends and family of course.

My goals for the next year include:

–          Running a half marathon
–          Doing well in school
–          Continuing to improve my blog
–          Planning for my website I will launch when I graduate
–          Learning more about gluten-free and vegan cooking
–          Becoming a better cook (I went to culinary school but there is always room for improvement)
–          Continue to network and create contacts – like the lady that wants me to teach a cooking workshop!
–          Have fun

–          Eat healthy, exercise and indulge every now and then!

Some weekly goals (I need these as I can be a procrastinator sometimes):

–          Stay organized and prioritize
–          Have a study schedule and me-time schedule
–          Don’t have facebook or twitter open when doing homework (bad idea)
–          Go for a run 4-5 days a week and on other days make it outside for a walk
–          Call my mom a few times (it’s hard sometimes with the time difference)
–          Write at least 3 blog posts

–          Try a few new recipes

At school we had a study practicum. They talked about staying in tune with our ‘big picture.’ We all have goals or what we would like to achieve from this program in the end. We need to stay focused on it and not let our busy and stressful lives make us forget why we are there. They said don’t tell yourself ‘I am going to get 100% on every test,’ but set goals and always remember your ‘big picture.’ I think they made perfect sense. Sometimes you can get so caught up in something that you lose the enjoyment and forget why you are doing it. With my busy schedule, I’m definitely trying to stay on track and remember what I am doing and why. What are your short and long term goals? What is your ‘big picture?’

Awesome quote I found: “Even if you are on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there.”

As I only have two cookies left from the ones I ordered (and got delivered to my door) from BBelles Bakery, I knew I had to have some healthy sweets in the house for those moments when I just might need them!

I love muffins because they are great if you are on-the-go or in a rush. I like bringing them to school with me for a mid-morning snack. I used a basic banana oatmeal muffin recipe and decided to add the ground flax and cooked quinoa for extra nutrients. They turned out moist and tasted excellent.

Super Banana Oatmeal Muffins

½ cup sucanat sugar (or other unrefined sugar)
1 cup rolled oats (soak overnight for better digestion)
¾ to 1 cup of spelt flour (might need more or less)
¼ cup freshly ground flax seeds
½ cup cooked quinoa
2 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. baking soda
¼ tsp. sea salt
1 tsp (or 2) of cinnamon
¼ tsp nutmeg
1 cup mashed banana
2 eggs (or egg substitute)
¼ cup of melted coconut oil (or organic butter)

½ cup chopped walnuts (you can also soak these overnight)

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Combine all dry ingredients together in a bowl and set aside.
  2. Mix sugar with eggs and coconut oil. Add mashed banana and combine.
  3. Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix. Fold in chopped walnuts and cooked quinoa.
  4. Put into greased muffin pan and bake for 20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.
  5. Enjoy with some honey or organic butter.

I came across this recipe last night and it sounded rich, decadent and delicious – words that some people don’t think of as healthy. This recipe is healthy and delightful. I love avocado and chocolate together, they make a ravishing chocolate pudding when combined with honey and vanilla. I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I did (and still will as I have nearly a whole pan left).

Raw Chocolate Brownies

1 cup walnuts
1 cup medjool dates, pitted
1/3 cup cocoa powder  
1 avocado
2-3 tbsp. raw honey or agave nectar (depends how sweet you want it)
2 tbsp. cocoa powder
2 tsp. vanilla extract
½ tsp. cinnamon

dash salt

  1. Combine walnuts, dates and 1/3 cup of cocoa powder in a food processor. Process until the mixture is soil like. Press into a 8 inch x 8 inch pan.
  2. With a food processor or blender, blend the avocado, honey, 2 tbsp. of cocoa powder, vanilla, salt and cinnamon until smooth.
  3. Spread over the brownie base, and then put in the freezer for about an hour to set.
  4. Cut into squares and keep in the freezer as they are very soft at room temperature. They will never actually get rock solid in the freezer.

Have an awesome week everyone! I have some adventures planned with the girls this week and I’m looking forward to sharing them!

3 responses to “Super Banana Oatmeal Muffins and Raw Chocolate Brownies

  1. Very interesting post Elisa! 🙂 I’m really due for a post of my own soon too. It’s just been so crazy these days. I’ll be sending you that schedule as soon as I can get it all done ok. Remind me if it’s been too long! LOL! So much going on. Speaking about goals…my first one is to go buy myself a day planner so that I can get everything I have to do DONE! Keep up the great posts! 😀

  2. Great post about goals. Have you started a half training plan yet? I ran my first one March 6. Recipes look great!

    • Thank you. I have not started training yet, but I have been running. I did 6 km around Stanley Park on Wednesday and that was my most intense run so far. It is all new to me, but I am going to keep at it :).

Leave a Reply

