Overnight Oats and Kale Blueberry Smoothie

Hello everyone! I can’t believe how fast this week has gone by! I’ve been really busy again with school and work. I’m on my spring break next week so I’ll have a bit more time for blogging and trying new recipes!

On Tuesday I had a sleep-over with two of my friends from school – yes I sound like I’m in high school but it was totally fun! Nicole lives in Whistler and commutes the two days a week that we have class, so she stayed with me for two nights to save gas. Elyse stayed over just because it was going to be so fun! We had a girl talk and a couple glasses of wine. It was nice to just be silly and just talk about anything. We talked mostly about food and school.

The next morning Renata joined us. We made breakfast and had a study party. We attempted to make pancakes from coconut flour, but soon found out you need to use another flour with it as well. It took a few tries but the end result turned out awesome. I would love to share the recipe, but we are unsure of the measurements. Well, we started off taking measurements, but then we forgot while making some modifications. I am going to try and make them again this week hopefully.

After studying for a bit, we decided to head to Stanley Park for a run. It was a gorgeous day – the sun was shining and we were dying to get out and get some vitamin D! As you all know I’m just getting into running. The run we did Wednesday was the longest and most intense one I have done yet. We ran 6 km around the sea wall in Stanley Park and only stopped once for a quick washroom break.

At some points I just wanted to give up. I was so happy to have the girls with me; they were so motivating! At some points I just wanted to stop and they would say, “No, we can’t stop, just slow down the pace a little, you can do it!” I felt so out of shape compared to them, but they said I did great, especially since I have not been running for very long. I also hit one point where I really felt like I was going to give up, but Renata had a little fruit energy bar on her that I ate and it helped me get back on track. I guess my blood sugar might have been low.

After the run we did some walking lunges in the park. I felt so amazing after the run! I felt like I really accomplished something. I pushed myself and it felt great. I have my friends to thank, because if they weren’t there I might have given up earlier.

From Stanley Park, we headed to Granville Island Market – one of my favourite places to be! We had lunch and bought a few things. Nicole and I got some fresh raspberries, blackberries, dragon fruit and a whole coconut so we could drink the water. We also got this delicious black bean salsa. We snacked on everything while we were studying that night. I definitely had a lot of fun those two days.

There are two recipes I am posting today. The first one is for Overnight Oats. We have been discussing the benefits of soaking your grains, nuts and seeds in class and how it affects your digestion (there will be a post on this topic in the near future). What is awesome about soaking your oats overnight is that you have the option of eating them raw in the morning or cooking them. They taste great either way!

The second recipe I am posting is for a Kale and Blueberry Smoothie. I’ve been loving them lately. They are healthy and refreshing, but still taste great! 

Overnight Oats

½ cup regular oats
1 tbsp freshly ground flax seed
1 tbsp chia seeds
Just enough water to cover oats
Small handful of almonds
¼ cup blueberries
Drizzle of honey
Almond milk
½ tsp apple cider vinegar or organic yogurt

½ tsp cinnamon 

  1. Combine oats, ground flax, chia seeds and almonds. Add water until just covering mixture. Add apple cider vinegar and mix. Cover and leave on counter overnight.
  2. In the morning add blueberries, honey, cinnamon and add desired amount of almond milk.
  3. Enjoy!

Note: The apple cider vinegar promotes fermentation in the oats. Look for an apple cider vinegar at your health food store that contains ‘mother.’ If you don’t have it, the organic yogurt will work fine too. I will be explaining this process more in a post this week. These oats are a great-tasting and healthy breakfast!

Kale and Blueberry Smoothie

Half a frozen banana
½ cup blueberries
One bunch of kale leaves
1 cup almond milk or filtered water
1 tbsp. chia seeds
1 tbsp. freshly ground flax
1-2 tbsp. protein powder

Couple drops of stevia

  1. Combine all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth. May need to adjust almond milk or water so that you can reach the consistency you want for your smoothie.

Note: You can add maca powder, spirulina or other greens mixture for extra nutrients!

One response to “Overnight Oats and Kale Blueberry Smoothie

  1. Good job on the run! Keep at it girl…and in no time you’ll be running your first marathon!!! 🙂 And yes, I too love soaking my grains/nuts/seeds. It opens the door for nutrients!

Leave a Reply

