Vegan Carrot Spiced Muffins and a Smoothie!

 

Hello everyone. This student/work life is not leaving me much time for blog posts! I`m doing my best; it`s just been so busy! I actually just picked up a second job too. Despite my crazy schedule, I have been eating healthy, exercising and making sure I get a good night’s sleep. I always make sure I eat breakfast in the morning, pack myself a lunch and bring some healthy snacks with me. My runs have been great since I did that long one with the girls last week. I no longer start walking if I get really tired; I just slow my pace down and get right back in it! I think my eating and exercising habits have been keeping me from burning out. A year ago I was constantly tired, not eating very well and not exercising very much – I feel like I can conquer anything now!

Tomorrow I’m leaving to go to Tofino for three days. I’m taking a road trip with the girls. We’re missing Nicole, but she’s in Florida getting her tan on! I’m so excited for our mini trip. We will be hiking, surfing, visiting the hot springs and just having a tonne of fun.

We are all packing snacks with us. I made muffins last night. They are Vegan Spiced Carrot Muffins. Elyse is vegan (and of course I don’t mind eating vegan), so I made sure everyone would be able to eat them. I’m still new to baking without eggs. I’ve had some recipes that turned out great and some not so great.

I think they should have taught us more in culinary school about different diets and cooking with different flours. When I was in school, it was all about the butter, cream, eggs and white flour. I still eat butter (in moderation) and eggs, but cream and white flour are definitely off the list! They don`t make my belly feel very good.

I got this recipe from Oh She Glows. I made a few moderations but they turned out really good and with a lot of flavour. They will be great a great snack while we’re on the road or for breakfast in the morning. Below is also a recipe for a smoothie I made this morning after my run. I love smoothies!

I`ll be taking a lot of pictures and documenting our awesome adventures while we are there. My next post won’t be until Friday evening. If I have access to a computer I might be able to make a quick post updating you on the trip.

Hope everyone has a wonderful week! If anyone has any awesome recipes that I must try (even if they aren`t healthy), please send them my way!

Vegan Spiced Carrot Muffins (Adapted from Oh She Glows recipe)

Ingredients:

Dry:
2 cups spelt flour (I used 1 ¼ cup spelt, ¼ cup coconut flour and ½ cup quinoa flour)
3 tbsp. organic cane sugar
1.5 tsp. pumpkin spice
¼ tsp sea salt
2 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. baking soda
2 tbsp. unsweetened shredded coconut

1/3 cup chopped walnuts 

Wet:
2 tbsp. chia seeds (or ground flax)
½ cup + 2 tbsp. almond milk
1 cup shredded carrot
1.5 tsp. vanilla
¼ cup maple syrup
1 cup apple sauce (or mashed banana)

¼ cup melted coconut oil 

  1. Preheat oven to 375F.
  2. Mix milk with chia seeds and let sit for 5 minutes.
  3. Mix all dry ingredients together in bowl.
  4. Mix all wet ingredients with chia mixture. Add the dry ingredients to the wet, just mixing until combined. Fold in walnuts.
  5. Spoon into greased muffin tin.
  6. Cook for 25-27 minutes
  7. Let cool and enjoy!

Note: You may have to adjust the amount of flour depending on what type you use. I had to add a little more milk with the flour I used. 

Chocolate Berry Smoothie

1 full frozen banana
¼ – ½ cup blueberries or black berries (or both)
1 tbsp. chia seeds
2 tbsp. of fresh coconut flesh (if you don`t have any just a tbsp. of coconut oil will do)
2 tbsp. chocolate protein powder (or raw cacao powder)

1 cup almond milk (add more or less depending on consistency you want) 

  1. Blend together and enjoy!
One response to “Vegan Carrot Spiced Muffins and a Smoothie!

  1. Chocolate berry smoothie. That sounds pretty good! I just had a smoothie made from mixed berries with yogurt. Wanna try your version next time.
    For more nutritious recipes, check at:
    http://www.fourgreensteps.com/community/recipes
    Hope you find recipes that inspire you!

Leave a Reply

