Listen To Your Body and Homemade Cheese

Hello wonderful friends! I hope everyone has been absolutely fabulous! I just got over a cold last week and I’m so happy to be feeling back to my awesome self again. Some of my friends were like “what, you sick, how is that possible?” I was pushing myself a lot the week before that and I didn’t have much time for myself. It was bound to happen. I’m feeling great now and I’m ready to take on the world! It’s my day off today and I’m relaxing, doing a few things around the house and going to a yoga class with a friend.

We’ve been talking a lot about listening to your body at school lately. It has really made me become more attuned with my body’s needs and what it’s trying to tell me. Last week when I felt myself getting sick, I took some time at home, relaxed and rested instead of pushing myself even more. It has also been a little colder and rainy here in Vancouver for the past few days. I was rocking a lot of salads every day before that, but in the last few days I have been craving more warming foods. I listened to my body and gave it some more warm, comforting foods such as curries and cooked foods rather than raw.

We haven’t learned too much about this yet, but when our body is craving something it’s probably right and it could even be a nutrient deficiency. Yes, give your body what it wants, but make the right choices. If you’re craving meat, don’t go for that fast-food burger. Choose a leaner cut of meat or make it at home! I don’t eat red meat very often, but my body craves it every now and then. I usually head down to the market and get myself a hormone-free steak to barbeque!

Our teacher was also telling us how she was running one day and felt a pain in her left knee. She instantly attuned herself to her body, sent it love and prayer, and it stopped hurting. She’s such an amazing teacher; her passion for life truly inspires me and makes coming to school even more worth it. The way she speaks about food, health and life in general is amazing. She has such enthusiasm and her eyes light up when she talks about something that she’s excited and passionate about (like soaking your grains or making your own cheese at home).

Some other exciting news is that I’m starting a cleanse. I’ve already kind of started by eliminating caffeine, alcohol, refined sugar and flour, gluten and dairy. For the most part I follow this already, but I’ve found myself drinking coffee a bit more (by more I mean once a week) and being in social situations where I end up drinking. I decided it was a good time for a spring detox. I remembered a few months ago Kris from Iheartwellness did the 21 day adventure cleanse from the book Crazy Sexy Diet – Eat your veggies, ignite your spark, and live like you mean it! I picked up the book at chapters last night and decided to give it a go. At the end of the book it has an outlined day-to-day cleansing schedule with daily affirmations. She offers tips on exercising, meditation, getting through each day and provides a bunch of recipes. I will keep you updated with my progress for the next 21 days. I’m excited to feel completely awesome in the end.

We just started learning about cleansing and detoxing in school, so I’m taking my knowledge and trying it at home. I know it is going to be hard at some points, but I’m strong and I can do it! Last night I was at work and I started getting some intense sugar and bread cravings as I was plating desserts for the customers. All I wanted was a piece of that chocolate tart, the black current cheesecake or a piece of bread with some butter and honey. I held strong and I didn’t give in. I had an apple instead. I promised myself I would get through this cleanse and I was happy I stayed strong last night. The author of the book recommends keeping a daily journal to talk about how you are feeling, any struggles or basically anything you have to say. I’m going to pick up a notebook today!

This is my affirmation for day 1: I am capable, confident, intelligent, resilient and in charge. Health and happiness are my birthrights and I accept with gratitude.

Here is an awesome recipe for homemade cheese that our teacher gave us. I can’t have this on my cleanse but who says you can’t! Renata and Nicole made it at home. I tried it last week and it was amazing!

Homemade Cheese

1 container of organic yogurt (she recommended Jerseyland or Saugheen Farm for the brands)

Cheesecloth or old t-shirt

  1. Line a bowl with the cheesecloth or old t-shirt and pour in yogurt.
  2. Close and tie with a rubber band.
  3. Hang from a string somewhere in your kitchen making sure the bowl is still underneath. Hanging from the tap in the sink might work, but make sure the bowl is collecting all the beautiful whey!
  4. Let hang for about 4-5 hours, or more if you want.
  5. Now you have cheese!

Make sure you keep the whey. You can drink it and it will make you feel awesome! It’s like the whey protein you can buy at the store, but this stuff is raw and unprocessed. You only need a little bit too! For the cheese you can add roasted garlic, some herbs or whatever your heart desires. It will be spreadable like cream cheese. Try it on some toast or rice cakes.

I hope everyone’s week is going great! For those of you who are in Vancouver come down to Capers Whole Foods in Kits tomorrow afternoon. The girls and I are having a “Hugs for Humanity” day and are giving FREE HUGS! So come down and get one!

One response to “Listen To Your Body and Homemade Cheese

  1. You are loving this cleanse I bet!!!! YAY to healthy pure bodies!

    Wow, making your own cheese sounds pretty neat, too bad I can’t eat it 😦
    Happy Weekend!

    xxoo

Leave a Reply

