A Few Salad Dressing Recipes

Happy Earth Day and Easter Weekend if you are celebrating! Unfortunately I don’t get much of a break for the holiday as I have to work all weekend. I find it completely unfair, but I suppose I have to pay my bills somehow. Student life is tough sometimes, but it will pay off when I’m done. I can’t even describe how busy I’ve been. I haven’t written a blog post in a week! I’ve also been working all evenings this week too, so I have not been home to make myself a wonderful dinner in a while. Don’t worry; I’ve been bringing healthy snacks and lunches with me. I’ve been eating a lot of salads, quinoa, muffins, overnight oats, smoothies, fresh veggies, fruit and larabars. Larabars have been saving me especially when I’m at the job where I hostess and don’t get a break for a while.

Student life can be hard, especially when making healthier choices. I’m hardly at home and I really have to plan out my days. A year ago when I was a student, I was exhausted and had no energy. Because of my lifestyle and diet changes, I now have a lot more energy and I can handle being this busy. I’m working on a bunch of easy, quick and healthy recipes to share with you for when you are on-the-go. I’m hoping to make it a three part blog post.

Yesterday the girls and I were enjoying our lunches in our favourite coffee shop. We’re always picking at each other’s lunches to see what we made. Being a cook, I’m usually the first one in there trying someone else’s recipe. I had a salad with me yesterday. Renata asked me to send a few of my salad dressing recipes to her, so I figured I would do a post on them as well. Salad dressings are so easy to make and you can add whatever you want to them.

The ratio is usually one part vinegar to three or four parts olive oil. I don’t really measure too much at home, but it’s a general idea of how much you should have of each. When I’m in a rush, I usually just do the good olive oil and lemon juice drizzle over my salads.

Strawberry Balsamic Dressing

1 cup strawberries
1 cup olive oil
2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar
½ tsp. sea salt
¼ tsp. black pepper

Dried or fresh basil to taste (optional) 

Directions: Blend everything together except the olive oil. Once smooth, start slowly adding the olive oil to the mixture in the blender. Taste, adjust to your preferences and enjoy!

Seasame Tahini Dressing

2 tbsp. tahini
¼ cup olive oil
1-2 tbsp. lemon juice
1 tsp. honey
1-2 garlic cloves minced
½ tsp. sesame oil
1 tsp. ground cumin

Salt and pepper to taste 

Directions: Wisk all ingredients together! 

Tahini Avocado Dressing (From Oh She Glows)

Makes ¾ cup

1 small avocado (about 1/2 cup flesh)
1-2 tsp extra virgin olive oil
1 garlic clove, chopped finely
3 tbsp tahini (or to taste)
2-4 tablespoons water (depending on the thickness desired)
2 tablespoon lemon juice (or to taste)
1/2 tbsp lime juice (if preferred)
3/4 teaspoon cumin, or to taste
1/2 teaspoon coriander

1/4-1/2 tsp kosher salt

Directions: In a food processor (or blender if you think it will work!), process the above ingredients together to make a sauce. I suggest adding the ingredients slowly to taste. You can adapt this recipe to suit your own taste buds! You might like more or less tahini or more EVOO, etc.

Basic Lemon Vinaigrette

1 tsp. Dijon mustard
1 tbsp. lemon juice
4 tbsp. olive oil
1 tsp. honey

Salt and pepper to taste 

Directions: Mix all ingredients together and enjoy!

These are just a few of the dressings that have been popular in my kitchen lately. I will be posting much more, especially since the wonderful weather is on its way. Summer salads are my favourite! Hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

