Connecting Through Your Relationships and Food

Happy Easter Sunday! I hope everyone is having a spectacular weekend. Whether you are religious or not, holidays are a great way to connect with the people you care about. I work all weekend and my family is in Ontario, but I still feel closer to them. I talked to my family this morning on the phone. I miss them, but you can be connected with someone from anywhere in the world.

My roommate’s mother and sister are visiting for the weekend. This morning I got to have Easter breakfast with them which was great! We had buttermilk pancakes with some fresh strawberries on the side. I love breakfast! It’s so much better when you can sit down and enjoy it with people, especially the ones you care about. Sitting down for meals is a great way to unite even if you’re just eating. You’re not only connecting with the people through conversation, but with your body with every bite you take. You’re communicating from the moment you sense it, whether it’s through taste, smell, touch or sound.

Some foods make you feel amazing and some not so great. I think establishing that connection is important. It’s how you know what will make you feel your best. I think the same thing applies to your relationships. Some people might not make you feel so great, but some people will make you feel like you’re on top of the world. Those are the people you want to see more of and gain all the energy you can from. Why not apply that connection to food? Certain foods make me feel horrible and don’t give me a lot of energy. Other foods make me feel amazing and I get so much drive from them. I thrive on and I am truly inspired by the people who send me positive energy.

Holistic nutrition is not only about food, but also about your body, mind and spirit. Stress has a huge impact on your entire body including your digestive tract. Positive thinking and minimizing stress will help you absorb nutrients much better. Surrounding yourself with optimistic people in a good environment will help you live a longer life full of happiness and vitality. What makes you feel your absolute best? Who inspires you? If you could be at your best right now (if you aren’t already, but I believe there is no end to the ladder), how would that feel?

Apply all these questions to not only the people around you and your environment, but the things you consume on a daily basis. We need food to live. Whether we want to or not, we all have an emotional connection with it. Our body is an amazing phenomenon and it deserves to be treated like one. Think about how certain foods make you feel. Does this make me feel sick or unhappy, or does it give me energy and vitality?

Oh and back to the Easter thoughts! Bria’s mom also hid Easter eggs and bunnies all over the apartment. We’re all in our twenties, but it’s still so exciting. You’re only as young as you feel. This year is the first year my parents have no children at home. My sister is off at college and is in the middle of exams. I’m on the other side of the country working! We’re still there in spirit. I’m very thankful to have gotten to share this wonderful morning with my roommate’s family.

I hope I left everyone with some positive thoughts on this extraordinary morning! Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Leave a Reply

