Power Granola Bars

Hello! How is everyone’s week going? Yesterday was absolutely fantastic since I had the day off. I was so productive all day; it felt great! I had a busy day in the kitchen. I managed to bake granola bars and some muffins, start a batch of kombucha and make a delicious dinner. All of the recipes will be posted in the next few days. I also did some cleaning, went for a run and spent a little time with a friend. I feel like I accomplished so much!

Tomorrow I start a new course in school. No more anatomy! I’m starting symptomology II. I’ll be learning all the different nutritional assessments and receiving my first case study. I’m so excited; I will let you know how it went!

The first recipe I’m going to share with you is the Power Granola Bars that I made yesterday. I’m on the go a lot and when I get hungry I need something quick. These are filling and great to keep you going for a couple hours when you hit that morning or afternoon slump. They’re even a great work-out snack or something to take on a hike. They’re packed with nutrients and they taste delicious!

You can swtich up a lot of the ingredients too. I just looked in my cupboard and started adding anything I thought would taste good. Play around with the recipe and make it your own personal Power Granola Bar!

Power Granola Bars

2 cups rolled oats
1 mashed banana
¼ cup honey (might have to add more depending on how dry mixture is)
¼ cup coconut oil
1/3 cup boiling water
1 tsp. vanilla
2 tsp. cinnamon
¼ cup GF vegan chocolate chips
¾ cup chopped medjool dates
¼ cup unsweetened coconut
¼ cup pumpkin seeds
¼ cup sunflower seeds
5 tbsp. hemp protein powder (or protein powder of your choice)
4 tbsp. ground flax
2 tbsp. chia seeds

2 tbsp. coconut flour 

  1. Add boiling water to dates and let sit for 5 mins. Mash up with a fork. You still want it to be chunky.
  2. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl until well-combined. You may have to add more honey or more coconut flour depending on the texture; you don’t want it too dry or too wet.
  3. Press into an 8 inch pan lined with parchment paper and bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden and slightly crispy on top.
  4. Let cool completely and cut into squares. Store in an air-tight container with parchment paper in between the layers.

It’s hump day tomorrow already! I will be posting a recipe for the amazing dinner I had last night, so check in tomorrow morning. Have a fabulous day!

One response to “Power Granola Bars

  1. These are amazing! sooo yummy! going to make a batch this weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

