My First Batch of Kombucha

Happy Wednesday! Wow, its hump day already! I love long weekends. I’m just starting my work week today. I work Wednesday to Saturday this week. For those of you who are following hockey, that was some game last night! I didn’t see all of it, as I was in a meeting with the girls, but I was receiving updates. It’s so exciting that the Canucks are going to the playoffs! I’m not a die-hard hockey fan, but I have definitely been in the spirit this season.

My first batch of Kombucha tea is officially ready! It tastes great too. I’m starting a new batch today, so I can have more next week. For those of you who don’t know what it is, I will explain. It is a living health drink made by fermenting tea and sugar with the Kombucha culture (called a mother). The result can taste something between apple cider and champagne, depending on what type of tea you use. It’s absolutely delicious and it’s good for you!

Kombucha is great for your digestive system. It contains a high concentration of probiotic-rich acids that provide a powerful energy boost, and detoxify and cleanse the blood of disease causing toxins. Scientific research has shown many health benefits to consuming Kombucha. They include: arthritis pains, intestinal problems, digestive disorders, kidney stones, high cholesterol, chronic fatigue, asthma, bronchitis, migraine, eczema, headaches, constipation, diabetes, rheumatism, anxiety, dizziness and insomnia. Kombucha also contains anti-aging properties.

For the recipe, there are so many out there. I found one online and tried it out. This site outlines all the sanitary measures you should take and gives you a lot of information on how to make your tea. I found it very helpful. Instead of the tea they suggested I used all green tea.

I got a culture from a friend at work who brews it as well. They split into two after every brew, so now I have one to give away to a friend! It’s a really amazing process. I wasn’t quite convinced when I first heard about it. I’m not going to lie, the culture does look a little gross (but so cool at the same time). I was buying the drinks at the store which can be quite expensive. Now, it hardly costs me a thing and the whole experience of making it and watching the culture grow is so much fun!

Have you tried it before? Or even attempted to make your own?

My sun burn from the weekend is finally turning into a tan. I’ve definitely learned my lesson of spending too much time in the sun unprotected. Hope everyone is having a fabulous day!

Leave a Reply

