Carrot Zucchini Muffins

Hello everyone! How was your weekend? Hopefully the weather was beautiful wherever you are reading this from. It was a perfect weekend in Vancouver. The only thing that could have made it better was if I didn’t have to work. I worked the evenings, so I got to enjoy the gorgeous weather during the day.

Let’s start off with my Friday. I got up early and spent the day hiking in North Vancouver in Lynn Valley again. This time it was a much longer hike. I think we hiked for about 4 hours all together. It was absolutely beautiful. There are trails all over. If you have a chance to go there, I definitely recommend it. It’s not an intense hike by any means, but the scenery and nature are just breathtaking. I’m usually camera crazy, but unfortunately I didn’t take too many pictures on this hike. Next time!

Saturday I met a friend for brunch at Habit on Main Street and East 10th Avenue. I have to tell you, I never order pancakes in a restaurant, but I felt inclined to order these. It was one of the best decisions I ever made. They are Granola Pancakes. You get three buttermilk pancakes that have granola inside of them and they are served with caramelized apples on top. The fluffiness of the pancakes with the crunchy granola and the sweetness of the apples makes these unbelievable. I was in heaven; I fully enjoyed every single bite I took.

After brunch we headed over to Stanley Park, where I went to my first “Pitch and Put.” I’m not very good at golf by any means, but this was a lot of fun. I made a fool of myself a bit in the beginning, which was interesting to see. I eventually got the hang of it and improved – by improved I mean not hitting dirt in the air and actually aiming towards the flag. Okay I wasn’t that bad, but there were a few moments! The day was absolutely perfect. Blue skies, the sun shining and warm weather; I couldn’t ask for more.

After we were done playing golf we went and chilled on the beach for a while. This is my first summer in Vancouver and so far I’ve loved every minute of it. I had a cute strapless top on, so I improved my tan lines from when I got a sun burn a few weeks ago. Oh did I ever learn from that day. I wore sunscreen on Saturday that’s for sure!

Sunday I spent the day cleaning and doing homework inside. It was so hard to concentrate because the sun was shining and calling me outside! I kept telling myself that summer is only just beginning and there will be plenty of other days.

Not only am I sharing my weekend adventures with you, but also a really great muffin recipe. I know I’ve been going a little muffin crazy lately and I promise this is the last one for a while (well, maybe). Being a student and working two part-time jobs, I often need things to take with me on-the-go. These muffins aren’t very sweet and are great for breakfast or as a snack. I modified Joyous Health’s Carrot Apple Loaf recipe and made Carrot Zucchini Muffins instead. Hope you have a wonderful Monday!

Whole Wheat Carrot
Zucchini Muffins

2 cups whole wheat flour
½ cup sucanat or coconut sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
2 tsp. cinnamon
2 cups grated carrot
1 cup grated zuchinni
½ cup flaked coconut
½ cup chopped walnuts
3 organic eggs
½ cup coconut oil, melted
½ – ¾ cup almond milk (see how the consistency is)

2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Combine flour, sugar, flaked
    coconut, baking soda and cinnamon in a large bowl.
  2. In separate bowl, combine eggs, coconut oil,
    almond milk and vanilla. Add carrot and zucchini.
  3. Add the dry mixture to the wet and carefully mix
    until combined. Fold in chopped walnuts or any other additions you desire such
    as raisins or other nuts.
  4. Pour into greased muffin tins and bake for
    approximately 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.
  5. Serve with a little raw honey for a delicious
    and healthy treat!
Leave a Reply

