Anticipation

Happy Hump Day! How is everyone doing today? It’s my day off and I’m enjoying every minute of it. I was off work yesterday, but I had class from 9:30-5. I took the entire evening to myself last night. After class, I went to yoga and then I sat in the infrared sauna for 45 minutes. I’m officially a sauna junkie. Those things are amazing. I’ve had a bit of acne (okay it’s not acne but it’s two zits on my face that I’m calling acne) for the past week. I have never had skin problems and usually get one zit a year. Luckily the sauna helped clear them up. I went to a class again today and went in the sauna again. I’m having another day to myself. Except tonight I’ll be joining in the Stanley Cup Final festivities here in Vancouver. I have worked nearly every game, so I have to get right in the spirit tonight!

My yoga teacher today talked about anticipation. We’re always anticipating or getting excited about something that is to come. We have a certain level of expectation for this event that is approaching. Vancouver is full of anticipation and expectation at the moment.

She talked about how in yoga, we are not focusing on what is to come, but what we are doing right now. We still often find ourselves thinking of the results or a certain end point. That one stretch that you can’t wait to be over or how you are going to feel at the end of the class. It’s so easy to let our minds wander.

What about making the present moment as good as it can be? Instead of anticipating the greatness of something else, we can make what we are doing right now the best it can be. What she was saying really made me think. There are so many things to look forward to in life, but if we keep thinking ahead of ourselves we might miss the moments we had today. Today might not be as great as it could have been if we weren’t looking forward to tomorrow. I do believe that it is important to have goals, dreams and aspirations, but I think it’s important to not let those dreams make us forget about what we are doing now that’s so great. Maybe five or ten years ago you were anticipating about where you are today. Are you exactly where you wanted to be or is it even better? Enjoy life as it comes, but still have dreams of the future. I know I have big plans and dreams for my future!

I’m not going to lie; I can’t help but think about tonight’s game and how it will go after how dreadful Monday night’s game turned out. I am, however, fully enjoying myself this afternoon. What are your views on anticipation? How do you try and make the present as best as it can be?

Hope everyone is having a great week! Let’s go Canucks!

Leave a Reply

