Amaranth Breakfast Bowl

Hello everyone! How was your first day of summer? Yesterday and today were absolutely gorgeous here. It was fabulous to have some nice weather after the rain we have gotten in the past week. It was so hard to concentrate in class yesterday as I was gazing out the window at the sunshine. Luckily, for our afternoon class, the teacher actually brought us to the park to teach the class. We did some group work in little circles on the grass as we soaked in some vitamin D. I was very happy; I’m not even sure how I would have survived the afternoon inside!

Today, Carmen and I attempted the cupcakes that she’s making for her friend’s wedding again. They turned out much fluffier this time which was great! I can’t wait to share the recipe with you. I have spent most of the afternoon inside packing since I’m moving next week. I’m about to head down to the beach for the rest of the day though.

I must tell you about my new breakfast before I head out. I haven’t used amaranth too much, but I decided to give it another whirl since I had some in my cupboard. I’ve had it before, but kind of stopped using it for a while because I was on a quinoa kick. It is quite similar to quinoa but smaller. It contains twice the amount of calcium than cow’s milk and three times more fibre than wheat. It’s high in protein and much easier to digest then animal proteins. It’s also gluten-free! It has a somewhat nutty flavour similar to quinoa, but you can easily flavour it to your liking. I have been rocking it nearly every morning for breakfast for the past week.

Here are some ways you can incorporate this amazing grain

–         Amaranth seeds can be grained in a mill and used
as flour
–         Popped to a healthy, nutty popcorn snack
–        Roasted
–         Cooked
–         Sprouted
–         Added to a stir-fry
–       Put into a soup where they will also act as a
great thickening agent
–         Breakfast porridge (my number one way to use it)

–         Or just serve as a healthy replacement for rice,
pasta or couscous

Amaranth Breakfast Bowl

1/3 cup amaranth
3 x the amount of water to amaranth
1 tbsp. ground flax
¼ cup almond milk
1 tbsp. chia seeds
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tbsp. protein powder (I used hemp)
1 medjool date chopped

Fruit of your choice (I used blueberries, strawberries and a little
chopped banana)

  1. Bring amaranth and water to a simmer and cover with lid on low heat for 25 mins.
  2. When done, add in all ingredients except for fruit. Mix everything together and put into bowl.
  3. Put fruit on top and enjoy. You can add a little honey for extra sweetness if desired, but I feel like the dates and fruit give it enough.

Hope everyone is having an incredible day and enjoying the great start
to summer!

One response to “Amaranth Breakfast Bowl

  1. omg! I must try this breakfast bowl!! I heard how great amaranth is for you and I have only eaten it a handful of times! What is wrong with me?!

    YUM!

    xxoo

Leave a Reply

