Apple Pie Oatmeal

Hello friends! Back on the weather, I still cannot believe we’re the only ones in Canada not enjoying some hot weather. Check out this picture I got off the weather network this morning. You can see poor little me in Vancouver with no sunshine! So unfair!

Yesterday it poured – all day! It stopped later in the evening when I got off around 11:00pm. I’ve been walking to and from work for the past few days as it’s only a 20-25 minute walk. It’s absolutely gorgeous walking across the Cambie Bridge and then along the seawall to my apartment. The air is somewhat warm, the water is calm and the city is lit up.  I only had my work dress and a light sweater on and I was perfect. It seems to be warmer at night then during the day lately. If it’s nice again tonight I might sit out on one of the benches for a bit with a tea. It’s a good way to wind down after work before I come home to sleep. Working evenings is hard sometimes, especially because I can’t always go to bed as soon as I get home. I’m definitely a morning person!

On that note I made myself quite the comforting, warm breakfast this morning. I made a few modifications on Oh She Glow’s Apple Pie Oatmeal. Breakfast sets my mood for the day, so I always like to have something healthy and satisfying.

“All happiness depends on a leisurely breakfast.” — John Gunther

Apple Pie Oatmeal

Ingredients:

1/3 cup regular oats
1 tbsp. ground flax seeds
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
1 + 1/4 cups Almond Milk
1 Granny Smith apple, peeled and cut into 1 inch pieces
1 tbsp. pure maple syrup
1/2 tsp. pure vanilla
extract

2 tbsp chopped walnuts, for sprinkling on top – I didn’t have any, but I know they would be good!

Directions:

1. In a medium sized pot over medium heat, mix  together oats, peeled and chopped apples, and almond milk.

2. Continue cooking over medium heat for  about 8 minutes, stirring often. Stir in ground flax, cinnamon, pumpkin pie  spice and vanilla.

3. Pour into a dish and sprinkle with chopped walnuts, a pinch of cinnamon, and a drizzle of pure maple syrup. Add a tiny bit of almond milk on top.

So far my day is looking like:

–         Run on seawall
–         Laundry
–         Homework (2 more weeks until summer vacation – wait what summer)
–         Groceries
–         Relax on the balcony with a good book and cup of tea

–         Work at 4:00pm

I’m off tomorrow, so I want to try and get most of my house chores done today so I can have fun tomorrow. Have a fabulous day!

2 responses to “Apple Pie Oatmeal

  1. I know! What is with Vancouver weather? I have wanted to bike around several times this week, but it looks like it’s threatening to rain on me! Hopefully the sun come out again!

    • Today isn’t looking too bad, my run on the seawall was quite nice. But normally at 11am it’s way to hot to run! The whole country is getting a heat wave and here we are in our sweaters and fall clothes! Have to make the best of it I guess. I was in Tofino for the past 2 summers, so I haven’t seen some quality sun in a few years.

Leave a Reply

