Back in Action

Hello friends! Yes, it’s been quite a while since my last post. A lot of you have probably been wondering where I’ve been hiding. I’ve definitely missed writing, and it was my New Year’s Resolution to start again. This blog post will update you on my life over the past bit.

Well, for the past six months, I’ve been working in Northern BC in a coal mine (yes, very random, I know). I decided to make this decision half way through the summer. I was working and going to school full-time, as well as trying to keep up with my blog and have a social life. I had student loans that seemed like I would be paying off forever and it just felt like no matter how much I worked or how well I tried to budget, I still felt completely broke.

I have a few friends who work up north that make a good amount of money and I thought it would be a good opportunity for me to pay off my loans and save. I found a job cooking at a mine in Chetwynd. At first, it was definitely a little different going from Vancouver to the middle of nowhere, but I’m a small town girl at heart, so I quickly made myself at home. I usually work four weeks straight and then have two off. The first time was probably the hardest, but it’s gotten a lot easier to work that many days in a row.

The food up there is a lot different from what I was used to. There’s a lot of processed food, so it’s not the healthy holistic lifestyle I was used to. There are options to be healthy though. There’s a lot of fruits and vegetables available and as well as many options at every meal. I bring a lot of my own food and supplements there to try and be as healthy as possible. There is also a gym located at the camp. The camp is located outside of the mine, but is also very isolated. Fortunately, I made some amazing friends who brought me around on some adventures. Most recently, a few of us went snowshoeing. I had bought them on my days off. Climbing up a mountain with those things is definitely a work-out.

On my days off I’ve been travelling a lot. It’s nice to have that amount of time to do whatever you want. My boyfriend (yes this is fairly new) and I took a road trip in October which I will be blogging about very soon. We went to Ontario and Quebec to visit my family in January as well. We’re hoping to make it up to Alaska and a bunch of other places this summer. I’ve been craving adventure! This job gives me the options to do all the things I want because I have the time off, I’m paying off my loans and saving money for fun things at the same time.

Right now, I’m on my days off and spending it in Vancouver. I’ve been enjoying the luxury of having everything close by, and of course I can be caught wandering around Whole Foods nearly every day. I’ve been subletting my room in my apartment for a few months to one of my friends to save on rent. I think in the last six months I’ve been here for maybe a total of two weeks. I’ve also decided to move out. I plan on doing a lot of travelling this summer, so it seems a little pointless to have a place and never be there. I’ll be storing my stuff in Prince George until I figure out where I would like to live.

Oh, before I forget, I have not given up on school. I decided to take a break from it, but I’m finishing the rest by distance. From being away, I’ve realized a lot about who I am and where I would like to be. As much as I love Vancouver and what it has to offer, I would much rather be off adventuring somewhere in the middle of nowhere.

This is all the updates I have for you right now. I’m going to try and post something every couple days while I am off. The internet isn’t very reliable where I work, but I’m going to try my best to post a couple times a week while I’m there. I’m really looking forward to sharing all my adventures with you and posting new recipes. Hope you’re all doing fantastic!

Below are a few pictures of the surrounding area where I work.

 

Leave a Reply

