Cooking and Relaxing

Hey guys! How was everyone’s weekend? Mine was great, but it went buy very quick. We’ve already been off for five days, but it feels like two or three. I`m also finally on a regular sleep schedule as it took me a while to adjust after getting off night shift. Saturday we went to visit Josh`s grandparents. They have a hobby farm where they have cows, pigs, chickens, goats, and a horse. They also have a vegetable and berry garden. I think it`s awesome that they live off the land as much as possible. They know and have control of what goes into their food. I always enjoy going to visit them, especially for dinner.

Besides that we have been visiting friends and relaxing. Yesterday I managed to do a little Christmas shopping and bought myself a few things too. I got some cookie cutters, a pastry bag and tip kit, and some cute cupcake liners. I walked around the kitchen store and wanted nearly everything off the shelves in my kitchen. But, I was a good girl and only got a few things. Maybe Santa will be good to me this year.

 

 

Saturday night I made Sun-dried Tomato and Spinach Pasta with Pesto Chicken. I was pretty happy with how it turned out. I didn’t have a plan or recipe, I just went to the store and started putting things in the cart. I served it with some fresh parmesan cheese, basil and homemade garlic toast. I`m bad at writing down my recipes so I will have to post it on my next one. It’s definitely a dish worth trying!

 

 

Sunday we went to the craft fair at the Civic Centre. There was a lot of cool things there, but I was more interested in the food. We bought some fresh fudge and I got some different jellies to send my mom for Christmas. I`m pretty sure I tried almost every sample at the food stands. In the afternoon I baked some brownies and homemade clam chowder. They both turned out really good. That night I made maple glazed salmon with asparagus and a lemon scented risotto. I`ve made risotto many times between school and working in a resort, however, I screwed this one up. I was upset about it at the time because I wanted everything to turn out perfect and I also hate making mistakes. It ended up really thick and had a gluey kind of texture. I asked someone and they said I should have thinned it out with some stock. I guess I will just have to try again! I guess everyone makes mistakes and we have to learn from them. It must be the stubborn French side in me that gets really discouraged about it.

My personal training session on Friday went really well. I was sore for two days! My goals were to increase my cardio, strength and stability as well as tone and maintain my weight. I went again today and I think it hit me harder than the first day. He gave me another routine to do. Nearly everything he has me doing is working out my whole body. I`m hoping to workout 3-4 times a week. I don`t want to aim too high right now, but on days that I don`t go I`d like to do yoga or something active outside. In the winter I`m always outside between snowboarding, snowshoeing or ice fishing.

Well, that`s an update of my days off. I`ll get that pasta recipe up for you as soon as I can. I have to get a couple solid hours of homework done this afternoon. I always end up choosing blogging over homework. It`s more fun and I`m trying to avoid biology. This is my last science course, then the rest of them will be more fun.

Hope you`re having a super day!

Leave a Reply

