It`s Official!

Hello! Guess what!?!? We’re going officially going to Jamaica for 2 weeks next month! We finally made the decision. There were other places available for the dates we wanted, but they were quieter (more boring) areas that didn’t have the adventure feel we wanted. We wanted to go somewhere that had more to offer than sitting around the resort. We’ll be staying in Ocho Rios and there is plenty to do there. We’ll be going zip-lining, hiking up falls, visiting different beaches, tubing down a river, kayaking, windsurfing and much more. The trip is all inclusive, so we just have to pay for some of the extra excursions. I can’t even tell you how excited I am! Don’t worry I’ll take a lot of pictures.

I’ve finally gotten some cooking done. The other day I made a big batch of quinoa salad. I didn’t exactly follow a recipe – I just kind of threw it together. It turned out pretty darn delicious. I even had a couple people have a bowl and give me feedback. My only complaint was that I could have used a little less garlic. I could taste it in my mouth for a while. I loaded it with veggies, a lemon vinaigrette, then topped it with homemade candied walnuts and goats cheese. Yum!

Candied Walnuts or Pecans

1.5 cups walnuts or pecans
1 cup sugar
1 cup water
1/4 cup maple syrup
 
1. Heat oven to 350C. Whisk water and sugar together, then bring to a simmer. Remove from heat and whisk in maple syrup. 
2. Stir in nuts and stir to evenly coat. Strain extra liquid and lay on baking pan.
3. Bake for 20 minutes stirring occasionally. It may take a bit longer (or less) depending on the oven. The mixture will start to stick to the nuts. Let cool completely before using.
 

20130117-165228.jpg

I also made butter chicken and naan bread from scratch. It’s one of my favourite Indian dishes that I’ve been wanting to make for a while. We had Josh’s sister and her boyfriend over for dinner and they thought it was delicious. Next time I might make it a bit spicier.

20130117-165252.jpg

Josh made a roast in the slow cooker yesterday. I chopped the vegetables for him, but he did everything else. It smelt absolutely delicious in the house all day.  I made sure to load it up with lots of veggies!

20130117-165313.jpg

I’m not sure what the weather is like where everyone else is, but it’s been warmer than usual here. It’s been above zero which has left the roads sloppy and the snow melting. Some of you might be happy about this, but I`m not impressed. It means bad snowboarding and sledding conditions. We managed to get some skating in last night. I`m not the most athletically talented person, but I always try. It was fun shooting the puck around and getting some exercise. We also went to the gym and pool yesterday, so I`m feeling super today!

20130117-165241.jpg

Well that`s all for today. We`re eating left overs tonight then heading out for a snowmobile ride. We`re going to pull each other on the snowboard! This weekend my plans so far include snowboarding, poker night, ice fishing and maybe some shooting. I also need to get organized for the trip since we have to leave to go back to work on Tuesday. Talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

