Maple Cinnamon Almond Butter

Happy Monday! How was your weekend? Mine was a lot of fun! Saturday I went out for a little adventure in the middle of nowhere, and did some relaxing. Yesterday Josh and I went snowboarding at Purden Mountain. It was my first time going in 4 years! I wasn’t very good then either. My stomach was turning on our way there. I’m like that – I psyche myself out right before and get afraid. I signed up for lessons because a “ski hill” in Ontario is nothing compared to the mountains in BC. Besides, I really needed a refresher. I’m clumsy, but I try.

The instructor helped a lot. He taught me for about 2 hours and then I was on my own. I stuck to the smaller hill until the last run. He made me go down a big one! I was doing way better than I thought, but on that last run, my body was done. I was soooo sore from falling and giving my body a beating. It didn’t help that I was breaking in brand new snowboard boots either. I can’t even tell you how amazing it felt to take them off. I think we’re going to go again next weekend, so I’m ready to improve even more!

IMG-20130310-00105 IMG-20130310-00103 photo (59) IMG-20130310-00104

When we got back, this is what happened. Trust me, I was doing the same before him.

photo (60)

Now, on to the recipe I promised you:

Maple Cinnamon Almond Butter

20130120-214621.jpg 20130120-214637.jpg

I finally got to use my food processor, so I was pretty excited!

2 cup almonds
2 tbsp. maple syrup
1 tbsp. chia seeds
1 tsp. cinnamon
  1. Put almonds in food processor and continue processing until nice and smooth. It will take a while, maybe even up to 15 minutes. Every few minutes scrape down the bowl. Remember, patience is key!!
  2. Once nearly finished, add the maple syrup, cinnamon and chia seeds. It might not be as smooth once you add these, so continue processing for a few minutes
  3. Enjoy! I love it on toast, muffins or with sliced apples.

That’s all for today! I have an appointment with the personal trainer to get a new plan around noon. It will be the perfect addition to my 90 Day Challenge. I’m not going to lie, I’m a little sore from snowboarding yesterday, so let’s see how this goes. I might not be able to move by the end of the day! Have an awesome Monday!

One response to “Maple Cinnamon Almond Butter

  1. Nice pictures. I’m going to try the almond butter.

Leave a Reply

