Lentil, Mushroom and Sweet Potato Shepard’s Pie

Hey! Happy Wednesday! The week is already going by quick. My weekend was very relaxing. I visited family and did some cooking (of course). As I mentioned, it’s sooooo nice to be able to eat healthy and cook my own meals. I don’t regret my decision to change jobs one bit. And, 6 more sleeps until Josh is home already!

I’ve been going to the gym as much as possible. I took Sunday off to relax. I feel myself getting stronger and more toned, so hopefully I will be ready to reach my goal of 10 successful push-ups by March 3rd. This week I’ve been working 7-3, so I’ve been getting up at 5:00 am and going from 5:30-6:30 before work. It gives me energy at work and then I can relax and get other things done afterwards. Today is Day 20 of my 90 day challenge and I’m feeling amazing!

Sunday night I made something new. I’ve seen this recipe before and have been wanting to try it for a while. Lentil, Mushroom and Sweet Potato Shepard’s Pie. I found the recipe from this site. Josh’s Mom was a little skeptical about it as it’s not a traditional Shepard’s pie, but to her surprise, it was delicious! She even had seconds. I made mini pies to bring in my lunch too. I even had someone at work ask me for the recipe. This is definitely a recipe I recommend you try.

photo (75)

photo (78)

photo (80)

photo (76)

Something I found interesting about this recipe is that steel cut oats is one of the ingredients. It helps bind the first layer together and gives it even more nutrients. This recipe is packed with flavour and it’s good for you. The only thing I changed is that I put 2 cloves of garlic instead of one.

Well hope your week is rocking like mine. Definitely looking forward to the long weekend. Please send any of your favourite Easter recipes.

Leave a Reply

